Kacee Carlisle Unleashed: The Former NWA Women’s Champion Speaks Out

image

Pound for pound, there is no one better than Kacee Carlisle. The eight-year veteran has proven her toughness in the ring and is the nicest girl outside it. A former NWA Women’s Champion, Kacee has a successful track record as champion. From the current champion Barbi Hayden to the young Kat Green, and from the well traveled La Rosa Negra to the self-professed “Diva Overachiever” Reby Sky, Kacee has faced them with hard nosed aggression. In 2013, Kacee was ranked #7 on Pro Wrestling Illustrated’s Female 50, joining four other independent ladies on the list, and one of five women’s champions from many different promotions.

In her first interview, Kacee talks about her upcoming match in Brooklyn against the veteran Mickie Knuckles and other related topics. Like all the interviews I have done in the pay, this is 100% uncensored and 100% honest. Without any interruption, here is the interview in its entirety.

1. What got you so involved with professional wrestling?

I began watching wrestling when I was 8 years old. From the moment I sat down and saw it I was hooked. It didn’t take me long to decide that when I grew up, I was going to be involved with professional wrestling. I wasn’t sure at that time if I’d end up being a manager like Elizabeth or a wrestler like Sherri Martel (she was still actively wrestling when I began watching) but I knew that wrestling is what I wanted to do. 

2. What were your early years in the wrestling business like?

The early years for me were a period of learning, growth and expansion for me. In my situation, I wasn’t new to the business, as I had been working as a manager for several years. However once I made the transition to being a worker in the ring I found myself devoting more time to seeking bookings, trying to get more training in, trying to get my name out there on a larger scale….I had the advantage of having an “in” with a few promotions because I had already worked for them in the managerial capacity. The challenge for me was going above and beyond that, finding ways to get bookings in other areas with other companies, and to get my name out there as somebody who was now a wrestler as opposed to working exclusively as a manager. Eventually the tide turned, and I began receiving more and more wrestling bookings, which lead to my transition to being a full time wrestler as opposed to being a manager. Once that transition happened I considered myself as being back to square one, and concentrated on honing my in-ring skills, learning as much as humanly possible with each match I had and from as many different people as I could to make myself better and improve with every match. I NEVER imagined then that my future held the success that I’ve been lucky enough to enjoy in my career to date. 

3. You will be involved in VALKYRIE Women’s Wrestling in the coming weeks when you face Mickie Knuckles in one of the scheduled matches. What is your take on the match?

This match is one that many fans have been asking for and wanting to see for quite some time. When the match was announced I personally received several emails from fans who decided to attend the show simply because Mickie and I would not only be facing each other that night, but for the first time to boot. I’m looking forward to facing Mickie. She’s known as one of the toughest and most skilled women in the business for a reason and it’s a challenge that I’m really looking forward to. I know that I’ll be tested that night and that it will be a hard hitting matchup. I’m excited for it and hopefully the fans are as well. 

4. With the Hardcore Roadtrip controversy hanging above the wrestling scene, what is your take on this matter?

I honestly don’t know many details surrounding it because I haven’t been involved with the Hardcore Roadtrip in any manner. But, overall, it’s just a sad part of our business and the type of situation that you don’t ever want to see happen. It’s bad for not only the professional wrestling business as a whole, but it’s bad for the wrestlers and definitely the fans as well. Everybody loses when things like this occur and it’s unfortunate. Hopefully it will prove to be a learning experience—in some way—and perhaps there won’t be a repeat of this type of thing happening again, at least anytime soon.

5. What is your take on women’s wrestling?

I think women’s wrestling has been making a name for itself that it hasn’t had in recent years. Obviously the product you see on TV is different in many ways from what you see at independent events around the country. Women’s wrestling in the past has been viewed as a side show of sorts, a “special attraction” that fans perhaps didn’t have the same expectations or respect for as our male counterparts. I think that mentality does still prevail in some areas, but overall I see women’s wrestling gaining popularity and respect as a whole around the country. The majority of women in the sport have worked very hard to become strong competitors and athletes and when you look around and see the number of promotions that are including women’s matches on their cards—or even better, the number of all-women promotions emerging, such as VALKYRIE—to me that shows that the interest in women’s wrestling is growing by the day.

6. You have been a former NWA Women’s Champion wrestling all over the United States. How did it feel to hold on a championship that has so much prestige?

Holding that title was truly an honor for me, and that will always be one of the top–if not THE top–highlight in my career. To grow up having this dream and not only being lucky enough to be a professional wrestler to begin with, but to hold the NWA Women’s World Title–especially when you look back at the names who held it before me—what a humbling experience. Having that piece of history is hugely important to me and it was an honor that I took very seriously. I did my best to bring as much attention to the Championship as I could, to remind people that the NWA is still very much alive and kicking and the history that goes along with that. I was extremely proud to be their Champion and I hope to have another run with it sometime soon. 

7. Who is your dream opponent and why?

My dream opponent has always been Sherri Martel. Growing up she was such an awe-inspiring figure to me, she carried herself with such confidence, she was solid in the ring and just an overall “presence” in my young eyes. Her aggression and her energy really inspired me and stuck with me as I grew older, especially as my career was just getting underway. I always thought  it would be such an honor to be in the ring with her after seeing her wrestle when I was young. It would be a match in which I was able to be in the ring with somebody who I quietly molded myself after in many ways. Unfortunately it will never happen, but if I could turn back the hands of time I’d take that opportunity in a heartbeat.

8. Let’s go around with name association. I say a name, you can respond to whatever you please. 
Barbi Hayden?

Never off my radar

9. Tasha Simone?

Old school vet

10. Cheerleader Melissa?

Great wrestler and hopefully a future opponent

11. Kat Green?

Big potential

12. La Rosa Negra?

A spitfire in the ring

13. With Valkyrie a driving focus for women’s wrestling in New York City, do you believe it can be successful in NYC?

I do! I believe it can be successful anywhere, provided the amount of time, effort and dedication put into it are what they need to be in order for that success to happen. It would take time, support from the fans and wrestling world in general, but anything is possible! 

14. What does the future hold for you?

That’s one question I wish I had the answer to. Hopefully the future will hold as long of a career as my body can withstand, more World Title runs, chances to travel to as many new places to wrestle as I can, new life experiences and adventures and continued happiness! 

15. In closing, would you like to leave a last message for your fans?

Thank you to ALL of my fans, both old and new, for your undying support!! I say all the time that I appreciate it, and I mean it every single time. Fans have a choice, whether it be what shows to attend, which wrestlers to follow and support—and if they chose me, I’m incredibly humbled and thankful! Please be sure to find me on Facebook, Twitter and check out my website at http://www.KaceeCarlisle.com

Special thanks to Kacee for her time flee this interview as well as the good people of VALKYRIE Women’s Pro Wrestling for their help inn the process. To keep up with Kacee, follow her on Twitter @KaceeCarlisle and check out her website which is in the very last question. Check out her matches at http://www.youtube.com/user/KaceeCarlisle and https://www.clickwrestle.com/kacee-carlisle.

You can follow me on Twitter @matthewhollie and the Official BarbwireBlog Twitter @BarbwireBlog

Leave a Reply

