This Is One Bonesaw You Don’t Want To Mess With: Jessie Brooks Gets Extremely Honest

image

The name Bonesaw Jessie Brooks can be very intimidating, don’t you think? A former SHIMMER regular and a Ring Of Honor alumna, Jessie takes her talents to her native Brooklyn for VALKYRIE and is one of the baddest women in wrestling to this day. Her previous appearance with the fledgling promotion resulted with her kicking the living daylights out of Davienne but ended up in the losing column by Sumie Sakai in the semifinals. Jessie’s strong suit is her MMA background, and can utilize some damaging submissions against her opponents. In her interview before VALKYRIE II Jessie will be all out honest about the coming event and talking about the match that people kept talking. Like all the pay interviews I have done, this is 100% uncensored. Without any further interruption, here in the interview in its entirety.

image

1. What got you so involved with professional wrestling?

Growing up I was a huge fan, I’ve still got the VHS tapes and posters to prove it. I loved professional wrestling to the point where it wasn’t even a choice. When the opportunity to attend a school presented itself, I had to go for it.

2. What were your early years in the wrestling business like?

Training at the Ring of Honor/SHIMMER Wrestling Academy under Delirious and Daizee Haze was an incredible experience. I received world-class training from two of the best the professional wrestling business has to offer. I’m incredibly grateful for that.

image

3. You were involved in VALKYRIE Womens Professional Wrestling’s International Joshi Grand Prix a few months back. The highlight of that night was your match against Davienne, when she kept coming back up when you kept knocking her down. What was your reaction to that?

I gained a lot of respect for Davienne after her performance that night. Going into it, some backstage were questioning why she deserved to be given the opportunity of wrestling in the IJGP tournament with how inexperienced she is, which is why I think they put her with me. They wanted to test her, see if she really belonged. She may not have been able to put in a lot of offense, but she hanged in there and took everything I had to give her. She didn’t allow herself to be pinned until she was physically unable to kick out. I imagine if the match went any longer the referee would have called for the bell. She has heart and a never-say-die attitude. She earned her place in VALKYRIE that night.

For me though, my personal highlight of the night was wrestling against Sumie Sakai for the first time in my career. I have known Sumie since I first entered the business. She is a true Joshi veteran and I deeply respect and look up to her. Being in the ring with her, having the type of match that we did, it was incredible.

4. With the Hardcore Roadtrip controversy hanging above the wrestling scene, what is your take on this matter?

Its a shame that things like that happen, but it only hangs over the wrestling scene if people allow it to. I’d rather focus on all of the positive things going on in wrestling, such as VALKYRIE holding NYC’s first-ever all-womens event, than dwell on the negatives.

5. What is your take on women’s wrestling?

It’s starting the long road of regaining its former credibility. What’s essential to it staying on that course is fans demanding that promoters stop insulting their intelligence. Stop using women who have zero talent and don’t belong in a wrestling ring, but get a pass because they look good in a bikini. It’s not only happening on television, but on the independent scene as well. It’s degrading and setting the business back so far, and a complete slap in the face to any woman who takes pride in her craft and respects this industry as a whole.

6. You have been highly involved with SHIMMER for quite some time. What do you think about wrestling in a promotion like SHIMMER?

It gave me the opportunity to wrestle women I otherwise wouldn’t have come across, especially so early into my career. I had only seven matches before I made my SHIMMER debut. It was an incredible opportunity for me as a rookie and it helped shaped me into the competitor I am today.

7. Who is your dream opponent and why?

My dream opponents are Io Shirai, Faby and Mari Apache, and Sara Del Rey. They all represent the fundamental wrestling styles in my eyes, and each as they are internationally nuanced. I’ve always idolized Joshi, and coming up in the American scene and also learning Lucha Libre from Joel Maximo of the SAT at Fighting Spirit Wrestling, I think I’m adequately prepared for any style out there.

image

8. Let’s go around with name association. I say a name, you can respond to whatever you please. MsChif?

I’ve competed with and against her, including when I made my Ring of Honor debut. It was an amazing experience to compete on national television and I look forward to doing it again in the future.

9. Davienne?

She is a resilient kid and has a lot of potential in this sport so long as she keeps on the right track.

image

10. Cheerleader Melissa?

She’s one of the top professionals in the world and she did that without competing like a “diva”. I respect that.

image

11. LuFisto?

It is difficult to master one style of professional wrestling, let alone several. LuFisto has done that tenfold and is a tremendous all-around performer. I have a ton of respect for her work and what she has done in raising the bar for womens wrestling, especially in the context of competing in inter-gender matches. I would love to compete against her in the future.

image

12. Allison Danger?

She’s a fun person to be around and I’m thankful for the opportunity she gave me to work for SHIMMER. As I was growing up in the business she had a tremendous series of matches in ROH against my trainer, Daizee Haze, which were key contributions to my growth and development as a performer and in setting my standards high for what a female professional in this industry can and should be.

13. With VALKYRIE a driving focus for women’s wrestling in New York City, do you believe it can be successful in NYC?

I have no doubt it will be. The talent is there and the management know what they are doing. They have a strong, creative vision and a true respect for womens professional wrestling. The talent sees that and I imagine the fans do as well.

image

14. What does the future hold for you?

I’m going to keep doing what I do best. Knocking bitches out.

15. In closing, would you like to leave a last message for your fans?
I appreciate any and all support. If you’re in the area please come out to see me compete for Fighting Spirit Wrestling in Brooklyn, NY on July 18th, as well as VALKYRIE the next night at the same location on July 19th. You can learn more about VALKYRIE at http://www.VALKYRIEWomens.com. If you’re not able to attend, be sure to check out VALKYRIE’s first event on VOD at http://vimeo.com/ondemand/valkyrieijgp.

Special thanks to Jessie for her time for this interview as well as the god people off VALKYRIE for their help in the process. To keep up with “The Baddest Woman On The Planet,” follow her on Twitter @BonesawJessieB. To check out her matches online, visit clickwrestle.com/jessie-brooks.

Follow me on Twitter @matthewhollie as well as the OFFICIAL Barbwire Blog Twitter @BarbwireBlog

Leave a Reply

