The Prized Filly: “The Queen Of The Carolinas” Tessa Blanchard Speaks Out

image

Some second or third celebration wrestlers have found their success in professional wrestling. The Rock, “The Million Dollar Man” Ted DiBiase, Ted DiBiase Jr., Natalya, Davey Boy Smith Jr., Cody Rhodes, Goldust, Curt Hennig, Curtis Axel, Cheerleader Melissa, Charlotte and many more of the second and third generation wrestlers who made their mark in the wrestling industry because of the family business. One of them should be also be mentioned on the list: Tessa Blanchard.

image

The granddaughter of Texas wrestling legend Joe Blanchard and the daughter of WWE Hall of Famer Tully Blanchard, this third generation athlete has made her mark in the wrestling business in her own way. From her debut with AIW earlier this month to winning the ECWA Super 8 Tournament to making her New York debut with VALKYRIE next week, Tessa has proven that she does being in the same business as her father and grandfather, and doing so in style. The “Queen of the Carolinas” is extremely gifted and supremely talented.

In this latest interview, Tessa will talk about her upcoming VALKYRIE debut, the Super 8 Tournament, and a whole lot more. Without any further interruption, her is the interview  in its entirety, and also 100% Uncensored.

1. Everybody knows full well your a third-generation athlete, but what got you so involved in wrestling?

Wrestling has always been in the family, it wasn’t until about 2012 at the WWE HOF/Wrestlemania weekend that I actually became interested in pursuing a life in this business myself. Seeing the fans, the talent, and the company gave me a taste of what it is like. After stepping in the ring I became addicted.

2. (Question from Robert W. Kovach) “What was the best advice her dad gave her when she was getting started in wrestling?”

Never let them know you’re tired. Never let them know you’re hurting. Just keep going. 

3. First off, you made your AIW Girls Night Out debut last weekend. How was that experience?

I had the opportunity of working with Veda Scott. What an amazing talent she is and the locker room was such a pleasure to be a part of. Overall, the fans, the talent, and the management were a pleasure to work with. 

image

4. How do you prepare for a match?

I isolate myself, give myself a mental pep talk. “Divas aren’t made, they are born”

5. On October 24, you will be making your debut when you wrestle for VALKYRIE Women’s Professional Wrestling in Brooklyn. What do think of the promotion?

I’m very excited, the card is jam-packed full of amazing female talent and I can’t wait to make my mark up north. 

6. You have been around some of the greats in this industry, like “Nature Boy” Ric Flair, Arn Anderson, Ole Anderson, Barry Windham, JJ Dillon and so many great wrestlers. Who in your mind is an influence in your career?

Anyone who has made a successful name for themselves in this industry is an influence. I am fortunate enough to have grown up around some of them & their knowledge and support has without a doubt been the most influential. 

image

7. (Question from David Falcon) “Would Tessa be interested in a wrestling tour of Japan? If so, what promotion would she work for? What joshi star would she like to work?”

Japan is every wrestlers dream. The talent is Japan excels in every aspect physically and mentally. To workout, train, or even perform with that talent would without a doubt make me a more knowledgeable student as well as athlete. 

8. Would you be interested in wrestling for SHIMMER in the future?

I am interested in working anywhere that will give me an opportunity to get in the ring with females that want it just as bad as I do. If that means working at Shimmer, then of course!

9. Let’s go with name association. I say a babe, you can respond to whatever you wish. Ric Flair?

WOO!

10. Arn Anderson?

Enforcer

11. Barry Windham?

talent talent talent

12. JJ Dillon?

Amazing mentor and supporter. ONE OF A KIND

13. Joe Blanchard?

Man of God. I miss him so much. 

image

14. Tully Blanchard?

Great father. I love him! 

15. Chastity Taylor?

Such respect for this girl. She works hard and doesn’t give up no matter who shoves her down. 

16. Cheerleader Melissa?

I would love to share the ring with her one day! 

17. With Valkyrie a driving focus for women’s wrestling in New York City, do you believe it can be successful in NYC?

I think that with talent that is willing to cooperate, work hard and tell a story each and every time they step into the ring, women’s wrestling will be successful. 

18. (Question from Tom Bumgardner) “Does she have a dream opponent in independent women’s wrestling?”

My dream opponent would be LeiLani Kai. She is someone that I look up to in this business and I don’t think she was ever given enough credit for what she was able to do. 

19. (Another question from Tom Bumgardner) “Will she aspire to her father’s mastery of ring psychology?”

I pick my fathers brain constantly and I put to practice the direction that he gives me. At the same time, I am not in this to be JUST “Tully’s daughter” and mimick everything that he does in the ring. I hope to work hard enough to make a name for myself in this business one day! 

20. (Another question from Tom Bumgardner) “Has her experiences with male fans been positive and respectful for the most part?”

Yes. I choose to keep all relationships I have in this business strictly professional. That way I maintain mental strength and stay focused on the main goal. 

21. Sent by Nicholas Garrett: “Besides herself, who are her Top favorite third-generation wrestlers?”

That is a tough one. Natalya Neidhart is definitely one on my favorite in ring technical wrestlers. She works very hard and it without a doubt shows in her product. 

22. What does the future hold for the “Queen of the Carolinas?”

All I can do is push myself harder each day; each match. Never miss a day of training, never miss a day in the gym, keep eating right and keep my body safe and healthy. Hopefully down the road all my hard work pays off and someone sees something in me that they’re able to run with! 

image

23. In closing, would you like to leave a last message for your fans?

Most people know me as Tully’s daughter. The Blanchard name may get my foot in the door, may get me bookings, may get me a shot at the big time, may get me in front of the right people… but once I step through those ropes and into that ring, the Blanchard name doesn’t take those bumps for me. The Blanchard name isn’t going to prevent me from injury. The Blanchard name is not going to wrestle for me. I work very hard and don’t want to be perceived as a girl with entitlement issues, I know that I have to work from the ground up & pay my dues. It takes process to get to the prize and that’s what I am doing now! 

Special thanks to Ms. Tessa Blanchard for her time for this interview. To keep up with the undisputed “Queen Of The Carolinas,” follow her on Twitter @teamTblanchard.

You can follow me on Twitter @matthewhollie and the OFFICIAL Barbwire Blog Twitter @BarbwireBlog

One thought on “The Prized Filly: “The Queen Of The Carolinas” Tessa Blanchard Speaks Out

Leave a Reply

