Giving The Devil Her Due: Why Nicole Matthews Deserves To Be SHIMMER Champion

image

If you think I hate the reigning SHIMMER Champion Nicole Matthews after what she did this past weekend, I would be lying if I did; but the truth of the matter is I don’t. There’s an old saying to this story; “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say nothing at all.” Deep down I have been angry about how this was basically handled and of course I went up against fans who don’t agree with what I say and how I say. Let’s just say a few level-headed people in my inner circle made me realize what the sport is all about.

In my article about last weekend’s events, I said; “Sure SHIMMER needed a new champ, but that title should not be held by someone who stooped that low to be champion. That’s a major problem in my opinion. I would never support anybody who go that far to utilize those kinds of tactics like a fireball to the face. That don’t sit well with me at all. Call me a traditionalist nowadays, but that’s how I feel. But regardless of what people think, I will continue to support the women’s side of the sport, but cheering for an individual for cheating her way to victory makes no sense at all.” At that point where I was extremely annoyed and angry that a heel cheated to win a championship. But, then again, that’s what heels do. They cheat to get heat and good guys play by the rules. It’s all part of the game. If you’re going to be angry, take it somewhere else.

Personally, I’m happy for Nicole because she worked hard to get  to the top of the mountain. From just a young girl from suburban Vancouver, BC to holding the most prestigious title in women’s wrestling is something to be proud of. Regardless of how it played out, it’s needless to say she deserves it and hopefully we get to see her defend the SHIMMER Championship against opponents she can handle.

Is the world ready for Nicole Matthews? In my opinion, yes. But can she hold on to the gold for a long time? I’m crossing my fingers. But is everybody right that she deserves it more than anybody in SHIMMER right now? Yes.

Let’s hope Nicole can handle the pressure. She’s got huge shoes to fill, but she’s more capable to do so.

You can follow me on Twitter @matthewhollie as well as The Barbwire Blog’s official accounts:
Twitter: @BarbwireBlog
Facebook: Facebook.com/TheBarbwireBlog
Tumblr: barbwireblog.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

