Jersey Strong, VALKYRIE Ready: A Chat With Deonna Purrazzo

image

There are some wrestlers that started their wrestling careers in their late teens, like Cheerleader Melissa and Paige. And there’s another talent on that list, and that’s Deonna Purrazzo. The New Jersey native is making huge waves on the women’s wrestling scene, from her rivalry with Debbie Kane to her appearance for TNA’s Knockouts Knockdown pay per view. At VALKYRIE IV, she will make her debut in the promotion when she goes up against one of the most respected veterans in women’s wrestling, Jennifer Cruz. In Deonna’s first interview here on The Barbwire Blog, she will discuss her fast-rising career as well as her match at VALKYRIE IV. Without any further interruption here is the interview in its entirety.

1. What got you so involved with professional wrestling?

I have a twin brother so I grew up watching wrestling with him and his friends. I want to say I saw Stone Cold hit Jericho with a chair and from that moment on I was hooked. I was 9 years old at the time and told my mother “I want to be a professional wrestler.” She told me once I was 18 and I could afford tuition of a school, I could. I found D2W Pro Wrestling Academy, 20 minutes from my house and I went and signed up.

2. Who are you biggest influences in wrestling?

Growing up I idolized Trish Stratus and Lita. I also loved women like Victoria and Jazz. I was a big John Cena fan, I loved DX. But now that I have an understanding of psychology and what goes into calling a match “on the fly,” etc, I really appreciate Ric Flair, Rip Rogers, Mr. Perfect, Roddy Piper, all the guys that went through the territories to learn their craft.

3. At VALKYRIE IV, you will be up against Jennifer Cruz, one of the veterans of women’s wrestling. What do you expect from that match?

I am really excited to go against Jennifer Cruz. I had met her last summer and I know she trained for a little while at IWF while Damian Adams, my trainer now, was training at that facility. I’ve done some studying of her style and I think that we can have the ability to produce an amazing match together. I am anxious to see how it turns out!

4. What is your take on women’s wrestling?

I think women’s wrestling is growing and getting more attention weekly. We have the women on TV who are stepping it up and putting on better matches, with every passing week. We have so many promotions now on the Independents that are “all women’s shows.” Its an awesome time to be a women’s wrestler because there are endless opportunities at our dispose right now.

5. Who is your dream opponent and why?

I am trained by Damian Adams, who trained under Rip Rogers at OVW in 2005-2008. Serena Deeb was trained there at that time as well. I study a lot of her matches and I think she is all around one of the best women’s wrestler, ever. I would love to get in the ring with her and just see how I stand with somoene of her caliber.

image

6. You made an appearance in TNA for their Knockouts Knockdown pay-per-view last year. What was it like to make an appearance for a well known promotion like TNA?

It was such an eye opening experience for me to be apart of Knockouts Knockdown 2014. I feel so lucky and so grateful to have had an opportunity like that at such a young age and such a short time actually wrestling. I mean, my 8th match in front of a crowd was TNA One Night Only PPV! Brooke was such a helping hand throughout the weekend, just trying to make me comfortable in what we were going to do in the ring and with myself, so it really allowed me to shake the nerves and try a put on a really entertaining show for the fans.

7. Would you like to make appearances for other promotions like SHIMMER or WSU on the near future?

Absolutely! Like I said, I think it’s a great time to be a women in professional wrestling and promotions like SHIMMER, SHINE, and WSU all cater to that point. If there was ever an opportunity to work for any of those companies, I would jump on the chance!

8. With VALKYRIE a driving focus for women’s wrestling in New York City, do you believe it can be successful in New Jersey and beyond?

VALKYRIE’s 4th event, Ragnarok is being held in Woodbury Heights, New Jersey on 1/23/15. I really do believe that being the first event outside of NYC, it will show that VALKYRIE can be successful wherever it goes. I am really thrilled to be apart of the show and excited for the future of VALKYRIE!

9. What does the future hold for you?

I think the future is whatever I make it. I have had so many great opportunities in 2014, I have so much momentum this year and I need to keep pushing forward. That is exactly what I plan to do. I will be traveling back to KY/WV/OH area in a few weeks and working up and down the East coast, again. I already train 3 days a week, every week, so of course I want to keep that up, as well. 2015 has the potential to be an amazing year and thus far, it has been!

image

10. In closing, would you like to leave a last message for your fans?

I encourage everyone to follow me on Twitter: @_DeonnaPurrazzo  as well as add me on facebook for constant updates on training and where I will be wrestling in the near future. I want to thank everyone for the support they have given me thus far in my career and I hope to make y’all proud in 2015!

Special thanks to Deonna for her time flee this interview. To keep up with her on social media, follow her on Twitter @_DeonnaPurrazzo

To check out the best matches in VALKYRIE history, check out ClickWrestle at http://www.clickwrestle.com/catalog/3109.

You can follow me on Twitter @matthewhollie as well as The Barbwire Blog’s official accounts:
Twitter: @BarbwireBlog
Facebook: Facebook.com/TheBarbwireBlog
Tumblr: barbwireblog.tumblr.com
Instagram: @barbwireblog

Leave a Reply

