Temete La Regina: A Talk With Queen Maya

image

Queen Maya, the tallest women’s wrestler on Europe (6’1″ to be exact), is one woman you don’t want to mess with. After all, she is a 5-Time Italian Championship Wrestling Women’s Champion and a 2-Time Real Quality Wrestling European Ladies Champion, beating Sammi Baynz for the title. Now the Queen of Europe will have a new opponent for the coveted title; And that opponent is someone she has fought in the past, Lady Lory.

In this latest interview, Maya addresses her upcoming match with Lady Lory as well as recapping her war with Sammi Baynz at Bellatrix 13. Without further interruption, here is the interview in its entirety.

1. What happened in your match against Sammi Baynz at Bellatrix 13?

That was one of the toughest matches in my career. Sammi is a really strong athlete. And resilient. She just wouldn’t stay down, so much so that I had to Chokeslam her from the top rope to finally defeat her. At the end of the match we both were covered with welts and bruises, showing that Female Warriors are willing to go all out in contests as physical as the men’s. But when all was said and done, I was crowned the European Champion for the second time. My campaign of royal conquest proved a resounding success exactly as my heralds had proclaimed. Veni, Vidi, Vici: I came, I saw, I won.

2. Now you are a 2-Time RQW European Ladies Champion. Where does that put you among women’s champions in the European wrestling scene?

The Queen is back on her throne. This is a glorious time for Queen Maya and therefore, for all of her loyal subjects as well. I’m currently a 6-time ICW Italian Women’s Champion and 2-time RQW European Ladies’ Champion. Which means all of the Old Continent is now under my reign. But the Queen of Europe is a benevolent one. Whoever out there thinks she can lay a claim to royalty has but to step forward and face me. She will be dealt with swiftly.

3. At Bellatrix 14, you will be facing Lady Lory; A woman you have faced before in your career; for the RQW European Ladies Championship. What do you expect from that match?

I’ve come to know Lady Lory very well and she has earned my respect. I know what an athlete she is and the true passion she has for this business. She has collected a lot of gold and accolades over her career. We have a lot in common if you think about it. We both fought long and hard to emerge on the European wrestling landscape, we both have been ICW Women’s Champions and have made headlines in Bellatrix. But there’s one thing Lady Lory does not have nor will she ever have, and that’s the RQW European Ladies’ Title! She will always find me on her path, all of her hopes will be crushed under my royal boot. It was her I defeated to win back the ICW Women’s Title here in Italy, and now it will be no different in the UK. The throne of Europe is all too important for me and I have no plans to relinquish it. She may be a Lady who thinks herself a Queen, but she can’t defeat the real royalty of Queen Maya.

image

4. If you ever had a match against any women’s wrestler in the world today, who would it be and why?

I would really like to prove my mettle against the top female wrestler in the world. And that distinction belongs to Paige right now. But truthfully, there are so many other Female Warriors I want to face to show them I’m not just a pretender to the throne anymore. I wish anybody who has met me before got to wrestle me now. This is a new Queen Maya, this is a dominant Queen with years of experience, illustrious victories under her belt, a new arsenal and bigger strength. This Queen Maya is ready to take on the best in the world.

5. At Bellatrix 14, Miss Mina would be wrestling her last match due to health concerns. What do you think of Mina as a wrestler?

Even though I never had the chance to wrestle Miss Mina, I love her style and her persona inspired by her Viking ancestors. She has lived her dream for years, blazing a trail for many other Scandinavian girls to follow. She should be proud of her jouney and her legacy. Outside the ring, she’s a giving, energetic and caring person. She will be missed among the Bellatrix roster.

6. Also, how are things in Italian Championship Wrestling?

The Queen’s original domain ICW is currently living a period of growth, with an ever expanding roster and live events every weekend, sometimes more than one in the same week. It’s an accomplishment few independent promotions ever reach, anywhere in the world. We’re currently in our 15th year of activity and we have opened schools in all of Italy, from North to South. We have one of the largest homegrown rosters of any company in Europe right now and we have some real gems among our workers. You can keep up with ICW’s product on our website http://www.icwwrestling.it .

7. In closing, would you like to say a final comment for your supporters as well as Lady Lory?

I encourage every one of my loyal subjects to check out my match with Lady Lory this Sunday, June 14th in Norwich, either live or on dvd. We have had some fierceful battles in the past, but never with the European Championship on the line. I’m expecting her to go for the jugular as I know just how bad she wants this title, but I know all of her weaknesses and I fully intend to exploit them. Just look at what I did to win back this Championship against Sammi Baynz. All of that and so much more is in store for you, Lady Lory. Come prepared. And come ready to taste defeat. God save you from the Queen!

https://twitter.com/queenmaya_icw
https://www.facebook.com/QueenMayaOfficial

Special thanks to Queen Maya for her time for this interview. To keep up with the happenings of the Queen of Europe, check out the final question.

To learn more about Bellatrix, check out their Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/BellatrixFW and hit the like button. Also check them out on Twitter @BellatrixFW

You can follow me on Twitter @matthewhollie as well as The Barbwire Blog’s official accounts:
Twitter: @BarbwireBlog
Facebook: Facebook.com/TheBarbwireBlog
Tumblr: barbwireblog.tumblr.com
Instagram: @barbwireblog

Leave a Reply

