Let’s All Agree To Disagree

20120529_Smith&Bayless_217

A couple of days ago, I had aired my total grievances about this year’s PWI Female 50 and lots of fans didn’t take kindly to my comments. While the article on The Barbwire Blog is basically accused of woman-shaming, the Ring Wars version is still a controversial piece to be exact. I have stated that Nikki Bella, this year’s #1, is nothing more than a talentless women’s wrestler and to those who read my remarks, disagreed. Granted, I respect the fact that Nikki has improved quite a bit, but in my eyes she was not #1 on my list, just top ten material.

I also went after PWI’s bias has with WWE, which of course is a topic most people agree on. I have said that I felt that Santana Garrett would have been #1 this year because of her run with the NWA World Women’s Championship as well as the SHINE Championship, but once again PWI showed us it was all about “Plastic over athleticism” when they named Nikki #1. While this is a kayfabe list, but let’s face it; there’s always going to be a debate on who deserves it more. While I attack PWI for bias but at the end of the day, we move on. Remember, I have respect for those who work for PWI and that doesn’t change.

The field was too big for PWI to cover and unfortunately there are plenty of snubs this year. The criteria they have is highly critical to others, but at the end of the day, why bother? I admit my own errors and I’m moving on with this topic.

So let’s all agree to disagree, will you?

You can follow me on Twitter @matthewhollie as well as The Barbwire Blog’s official accounts:
Twitter: @BarbwireBlog
Facebook: Facebook.com/TheBarbwireBlog
Tumblr: barbwireblog.tumblr.com
Instagram: @barbwireblog

Leave a Reply

