Editor’s Soapbox: Volume 4

image

With the recent backlash over the recent article about this year’s PWI’s Female 50, it’s best that I fully address it. Remember folks, not everybody is going to agree with me on anything or understand my perspective and above all else I have to accept that. While it’s fine to back up the opinions with explanation, but when it becomes a heated discussion that does nothing but divide the fans further apart, it’s not even worth it. The fans of women’s wrestling sadly is already divided and the last thing I would want is to be divided from the rest of the fans and shunned from the conversations about women’s wrestling, because I have been capable of contributing to them. Dialogue is key in any sport.

I’ve been doing this for 3 years and although I receive few praises over the years, I have my fair share of criticism throughout. I take the criticism like a grain of salt. This whole issue just flat out consumed me and sometimes I don’t know how to make it go away. I know everyone is not gonna agree
with what I say, but at the end of the day I have accept the criticism that comes with it. If you can’t handle it, then this job isn’t for you, I have learned. I’m willing to move forward and not let this get the better of me.

While I agree that my criticism of PWI’s Female 50 is one that is seen often on the internet and everyone lashed on me for still coming down on Nikki Bella for being awarded that prestigious honor, despite the fact she was graded on the same critieria and that criteria is a joke and weighs no merit on that list period. I also agree that the woman shaming comments were not good, and in poor taste and while a few people understand that I get so worked up and say things that I don’t neccessarily mean and unfortunately it comes out wrong. The best thing I need to learn and understand is that when first time readers view the columns here on The Barbwire Blog and see all those comments regarding woman shaming, they can easily become turned off and I’ll be labeled as “this” or “that” and not bother to give me nor the site a second chance. In this day and age, I, along with several wrestling columnists across the internet, have to be careful, and remember that my opinion is yours and you’re entitled to think freely; but sometimes my mind can go wander around and can bring chaos and you’re in control of that chaos.

It takes time to accept the criticism, I still receive it every week, and that’s fine. But in all honesty, I wish I could’ve taken those woman shaming comments back, because nobody deserved to be talked about like that. Everybody is still a bit miffed about that, but there was nothing I can do at that point. I’m willing to get women’s wrestling in a positive light and not let the negatives outweigh the positives. Now more than ever, I just have to be careful with those type of comments, because I don’t know who you could be offending. Here’s a scenario we must all think about, what if another wrestler read that article and got offended. In their mind you could make them think that you perceive them the same way. I must admit I’m wrong and admit my mistakes and move forward.

And to anyone who was deeply offended by those statements, I am truly sorry.

You can follow me on Twitter @matthewhollie as well as The Barbwire Blog’s official accounts:
Twitter: @BarbwireBlog
Facebook: Facebook.com/TheBarbwireBlog
Tumblr: barbwireblog.tumblr.com
Instagram: @barbwireblog

Leave a Reply

