It Never Snows In California…Or Does It?: A Chat With Jennifer Thomas aka Snow Cal Chloe

image

If you’re familiar with Ohio Valley Wrestling, you might know the names; Batista, John Cena, Randy Orton. These three men went on to bigger success in WWE and beyond. And another name that might bring back some memories is a woman by the name Kharma, the wrestling alter ego of Jennifer Thomas. A fitness model, bodybuilder, and an athlete all rolled into one, Jennifer became the more underrated athletes this industry has ever known. With a physique that might give Chyna a run for her money, Jennifer is capable of putting on the hurt to get opponents. Nowadays as Snow Cal Chloe, she still makes hearts melt in an instant.

I had the honor to chat with one of women’s wrestling’s most underrated talents about how she got interested into the sport as well as her comeback last year. Without any further interruption, here’s the interview in its entirety.

1. What got you interested in professional wrestling?

I never was interested in Pro Wrestling, not until Chris Bell (Director of the documentary Bigger, Stronger, Faster ) planted the seed to me inside Venice Golds Gym back in 2003, also his friend “Shu” (Aka Luther Reigns in WWE) and Mark Henry encouraged me to give it a try. I laughed at the idea at first , but then I figured “What is there to lose?” I was put in contact with Rick Bassman, who owned UPW (Ultimate Pro Wrestling) in El Segundo, CA. I went to my first training class and I have to admit, it was a lot harder than I thought. I remember going to the restroom and crying wondering if I had what it took to keep this up. All the whiplash from slams, the bruises and marks left on my back from constantly doing drills that required running the ropes…it was really a true Test of Strength for me. As my body became to adapt to the abuse I was putting it thru and I begin to learn the “psychology” of wrestling, the more I began to fall in love with it. It definitely was not LOVE at “first step in the Ring.” (Laughing)

2. Who are you biggest influences in wrestling?
 
As I mentioned above, Chris Bell, Luther Reigns and Mark Henry. However, I also always admired Chyna as I appreciate a woman who does not fear wrestling a man

image

3. You’ve been wrestling all over the country for years now, most notably under the names Kharma, Snow Cal Chloe and the Jacked Canary. What is it like to be involved with the sport for over 10 years?

It’s been very exciting!! I really miss my “Kharma” character, but since WWE bought my name from me, I had to change to the character Snow Cal Chloe…and now I am the “Jacked Canary” for Sinn Bodhi’s Freakshow.  I actually enjoy being different characters. However, “Kharma” is the character I am closest to.

4. In addition to being a wrestler, you had a great career in the bodybuilding circuit and the fitness modeling world. Does keeping your body healthy help you in the long run?

Most Definitely!! I think it’s a MUST to keep yourself in great physical condition if you are in a entertainment sport such as Pro Wrestling. However, I have learned through the years that having “Character” is just as important if not more. So ideally I really work hard on having both. Staying in shape also gives you longevity and quicker recovery time if you happened to get injured.

5. When you stepped out of the ring to become a session wrestler a few years ago, how did that play out for you?

Session Wrestling and Pro Wrestling began for me at the same time. I actually used my sessions as my “homework” for pro wrestling. I loved Both!! They work great together, because with the session wrestling, I was able to practice the moves I learned in class (holds mostly) and get paid for it which allowed me to focus on gym and pro wrestling training.

image

6. Last year, we saw you compete in the ring for the first time in five years against Katarina Waters in a EWF event. How did that pan out for you?

It was awesome, even though I lost. Just the experience in itself was magical. Kat and I go way back to training together at OVW in 2005 and 2006. We were constantly in the ring together trying to master our craft. The EWF match was our first REAL match together after all those years. I didn’t care about winning or losing…it was being with her again that made it so great.

7. What is your opinion of women’s wrestling?

Women’s wrestling is fantastic!  The sport empowers women, to learn their strengths, to push beyond limitations, to develop a persona and captivate audiences around the world. Women Wrestlers are pushing through the barriers that was once a male dominated sport. I’m extremely happy to be a part of it.

8. Aside from that, you’ve competed for the Lingerie Fighting Championships last year. What was it like to be in the same building with some of women’s wrestling’s top indie names?

You might find this to be horrible, but I have never really followed all the top names out there. I’ve always just done my only thing, wandered from promotion to promotion…never stuck to one.  So it was difficult for me to establish any true relationships with any of the girls. Unless I was with them at OVW or doing Custom Wrestling Work (Christie Ricci, Traci Brooks, Venus, Allie Parker)  I did not know them. I heard the name Cheerleader Melissa a lot and so I knew she was a big name and it was awesome to finally meet her at the LFC.

9. Who is your dream opponent and why?

Beth Phoenix. Because she is awesome, Beth is the Ultimate Full Package Deal to me.  She has the strength, the character and the heart. I think we
could put on an awesome match together. I did a tag match with her and ODB once at OVW, it was a lot of fun!

10. Let’s go with name association. I say a name, you can respond to whatever you wish.

Shelly Martinez?
Dramatic…Intense, Tough…I love working with her!

Katarina Waters?
Extremely Charismatic, Mysterious, Determined…Kat has powers that goes beyond physical strength. She’s like a witch that can cast a “Spell.” 

Cheerleader Melissa (Fellow LFC fighter under the name Sheila Cardinal)?
Confident, You don’t know whether to love her or to hate her. She can humiliate you easily. Even though I have never been in the ring with her, I can tell that ANY ring is Her Territory and you better be ready to seriously fight to think your going to have the glory of winning inside of it.

Allie Parker?
Allie reminds me a lot of Mickie James. Very Athletic, Entertaining and Sexy. 

Beth Phoenix?
The Beauty and Beast. Sweet Smile, but has the ability to tear you to pieces if she chooses.  From what I observe, her opponents are like “Toys” to her. Even when she loses…you know it was only because she let it happen.

11. What does the future hold for you?

When I return back to California, I plan to go back to the Freakshow as the Jacked Canary. Other than that, I don’t know. However, I never know…I don’t have a plan. The shows just kind of present themselves to me and If I can make it, then I am happy to go do what I love.

12. In closing, would you like to leave a last message for your fans?

I would like to thank you for supporting me throughout my career. Sticking by me even when I disappear for years then reappear. I’m like a “Now you see her, now you don’t” kind of wrestler. I truly love what I do, and I truly love the fans who appreciate my attempts to entertain them when I’m around.

image

Special thanks to Jennifer for her time for this interview. To keep up with Jennifer on social media, follow her on Twitter @WrestleJenT and be sure to check out her website, SessionGirls.com.

(Photos Credit: Larry Carlin and Jennifer Thomas)

You can follow me on Twitter @matthewhollie as well as The Barbwire Blog’s official accounts:
Twitter: @BarbwireBlog
Facebook: Facebook.com/TheBarbwireBlog
Tumblr: barbwireblog.tumblr.com
Instagram: @barbwireblog

Leave a Reply

